Cooking Stuff

Where Stuff Is Cooked

BBQ Pulled Chicken Open Face Sandwich

Here’s a quickie but a goodie and my new favorite thing to do with pulled chicken (or beef, pork or whatever).039 - CopyI didn’t used to like open face sandwiches and I still have a problem with the name, I mean if you can’t pick it up how is it a sandwich? But this totally won me over. The secret, other than using good pulled chicken, is garlic bread. I like to use Texas toast (which you can buy loaves of here) because thin bread just can’t hang. I use this pulled chicken although I have to admit to being a little embarrassed posting that link. Not just because it’s almost five years old and the pictures are terrible, but the method has certain flaws.

044

For example you really don’t need to braise boneless skinless chicken breasts for an hour or more. But what did I know, I was just starting at this blogging thing and still refining my cooking skills. Of course I’m still refining my skills, but that’s an endless journey. Heh. And anyway, the concept is sound, chicken, bacon and BBQ sauce are awesome together. They’re even better slathered on thick garlic bread with sauteed onions, covered in cheese, tossed in the oven for melting goodness and then topped with some scallion. Seriously.055 - Copy How can you not want to eat that wicked bad? Unless you’re a vegetarian, although I doubt I have too many of those following me. Heh.

Filed under: bacon, barbecue, bread, chicken, sandwich

3 Responses

  1. Mom says:

    Yes! Texas Toast from Aldi! The kids love it. Looks like a great sandwich, too.

  2. Yeah, that open-faced sandwich thing floors me too. But I just shrug my shoulders and dig in, particularly when it’s as great looking as this! 😉 Good stuff – thanks.

Leave a Reply

Looking for Old Stuff?

Here is a link to my old Blogspot blog where all the pre-2013 stuff is.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categories

Unless otherwise noted I have not been payed, given freebies or in any other way bribed by any company, website, store, individual or nonprofit organization for a review or any kind of mention. I am however open to it.
