Cooking Stuff

Where Stuff Is Cooked

Lamb Pilaf

From the Vault: Well I spent all morning playing with my 18 month old niece instead of writing so here’s another repost. Plus my computer has been freezing for a few seconds and then unfreezing whenever I’m on the internet. Stupid jerk computer. Anyway, enjoy!

—–

Just a quickie today kids, I’m not even telling you about the butterflied leg of lamb I got the meat (and fat) for this from. Saving that for next week. But this was good.

Really, really good. What I did was took the fat cap off the cooked leg of lamb, chopped it up, rendered it up and poured off the fat and cracklins (mmmm, cracklins). I got some good fond, deglazed that with some weak chicken broth, poured that off, added some of the fat back in and sauteed onions and garlic in it.

Then I cooked the rice like you would for any other pilaf (would have added orzo, but I couldn’t find it, stupid unorganized kitchen), plus some salt, pepper and a little oregano, added the chopped up cooked lamb at the end and… well, that’s it. Except I added the cracklins back in.

Because I’m a madman. It was as unctuous as a dictator’s sycophant, with little bursts of rich lamby goodness from the cracklins. I just love saying that, say it with me, “cracklins”. Good times. If you like lamb, leave a comment and I can try to make up a recipe for it.

Filed under: lamb, rice

Leave a Reply

Looking for Old Stuff?

Here is a link to my old Blogspot blog where all the pre-2013 stuff is.

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categories

Unless otherwise noted I have not been payed, given freebies or in any other way bribed by any company, website, store, individual or nonprofit organization for a review or any kind of mention. I am however open to it.
